Office of the Dean

Leadership Team

Dean Kimberly Griffin

KimberlyGriffinHorizontalHeadshot

Kimberly Griffin is the dean of the ֲý of Maryland College of Education. As dean, she provides visionary leadership and strategic direction for the college. Committed to excellence, care, community and equity, Griffin is a champion for student, faculty and staff success, an advocate for the college and its programs, and a firm believer in EdTerps' ability to transform education for good. 

educationdean@umd.edu | 301-405-2336
3119 Benjamin Building

Associate Deans

Photo of Doug Lombardi

Doug Lombardi
Associate Dean of Faculty Affairs
lombard1@umd.edu 
702-513-4415
3119G Benjamin Building

Terrell-Shockley_Ebony_Headshot_Cropped

Ebony Terrell Shockley
Associate Dean for Undergraduate and Educator Preparation
eterrell@umd.edu 
301-405-4959
2304B Benjamin Building

Ana's headshot 2022

Ana Taboada Barber
Associate Dean for Research, Innovation and Partnerships
ataboada@umd.edu
301-405-6482
3119B Benjamin Building

Department Chairs

William Ming Liu

William Ming Liu
Professor and Chair, Department of Counseling, Higher Education and Special Education 
illmliu@umd.edu
301-405-0099
3112 Benjamin Building

 

Dr. Nihat Polat, ֲý Department Chair of Teaching & Learning, Policy & Leadership

Nihat Polat
Professor and Chair, Department of Teaching and Learning, Policy and Leadership
npolat@umd.edu 
301-405-3133
2311 Benjamin Building


 

Laura Stapleton

Laura Stapleton
Professor and Chair, Department of Human Development and Quantitative Methodology
lstaplet@umd.edu
301-405-1933
3304 Benjamin Building

 

Senior Administrative Leadership Team 

Lucas Butler

Luke Butler
Chair, College of Education Senate
lpbutler@umd.edu
301-314-1815
3304P Benjamin Building

Janis Cornell-DeMoss

Janis Cornell-DeMoss
Director of Student Services
jcdemoss@umd.edu
301-405-2364
1204 Benjamin Building

Photo of Segun Eubanks

Segun Eubanks
Director of the Center for Education Innovation and Improvement
seubank2@umd.edu 
301-405-5601
2115 Benjamin Building
 

Elizabeth Gotwalt

Elizabeth Gotwalt
Director of EdTerps Learning Academy
egotwalt@umd.edu

Testudo

John Malone
Interim Director for the Maryland English Institute
emalone@umd.edu 

Natifia Mullings

Natifia Mullings
Director of Marketing and Communications
mullings@umd.edu
301-405-3468
1308D Benjamin Building
 

Testudo

Andrea Norris
Chief of Staff
anorris@umd.edu
301-405-2336
3119C Benjamin Building

Testudo

Steve Pragel
Director of Educational Technology Services
spragel@umd.edu 
301-405-3618
0223 Benjamin Building

Hakim Scott

D. Hakim Scott
Assistant Dean of Finance and Administration
dhscott@umd.edu
301-405-9263
1308 Benjamin Building

Lena Morreale Scott

Lena Morreale Scott
Director of Civic Education and Engagement Initiative
lscott12@umd.edu
3203 Benjamin Building

Kurt Sudbrink

Kurt Sudbrink
Assistant Dean of Development and Alumni Relations
sudbrink@umd.edu
301-405-8874
1308C Benjamin Building

Taylor-Lewis_Mary

Mary Taylor-Lewis
Diversity Officer
mktlewis@umd.edu
301-405-3572
3119 Benjamin Building